My Daily Infrared Sauna Session

 Most days I like to use my sauna as it’s my little moment to myself, a bit of time-out to reflect! This is how it goes… I switch on the sauna about 10 minutes before I want to use it, this allows it to heat up to about 45 degrees C (nice starting point). When I go in I dim the lights (LED mood lighting is inbuilt into the roof) and switch to auto, so it blends through the colours of the rainbow (each colour has it’s own effect on your mood but I like to feel the changing colours). Of course you can just stick to one colour or plain white if you like.

I tend to take in a book with me or my iphone (so I can catch up on texts, surf the net etc). There is a built in radio/CD player with MP3 connection plus speakers in the roof and a handy remote control so I can listen to some tunes… chill-out or a bit more upbeat, depending on my mood. Then I just sit back on my bench and relax!

I love feeling the heat rise and get more intense, just like I’m sitting out on the beach on my hols. I tend to cap my sauna session at 60 degrees C. For me, that’s my optimum sweat level if I do a 30 minute session. You can raise it to 75 degrees C (if you can take the heat) but also you can go as low as 45C and still get the effects of the infrared.

Ok, so I like to sweat and feel good, just like if I do a 30 minute spin class. But the other reasons I use my Far infrared sauna are because I get rid of all those nasty toxins (yes I like to party and have the odd drink or two), it makes my skin clearer and tighter plus there’s the added bonus of losing calories and getting rid of cellulite so I’m not complaining.

It’s pretty cool having your own sauna at home, it sits in the corner of a room, plugs into the wall and uses the same amount of electricity as my hairdryer!

Hmmm, well all this talk of sauna sessions is making me think I could do with one now….

Nicola

Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. Hiya! How’s the infrared sauna different from a steam sauna? I tried the infrared sauna over the weekend in Frankfurt and I thought it takes a lot longer to sweat it out and wasn’t quite sure how long we should stay in there to enjoy the full benefits of it. Any tips?

    Reply
    • Yes, it is quite different from a traditional sauna. A lot of people use it for health reasons, but if you use a good one, it can actually give you a really good sauna experience. The main difference is that the infrared light heats up your body directly while in a traditional sauna the air is warmed up which than in turn warms up your body. Because of that, an infrared sauna does not have to be so hot. Between 50 and 60 Celsius would be plenty for most people. A session however has to be longer than in a regular sauna. Starting at 25 minutes and sometimes up to 40 or 45 minutes. Which is possible because the temperature is bearable. With regards to the sweating; it takes about 10 minutes for most people to start sweating. But once it gets going, you can sweat enormously. You will find though that the first 3 or 4 times you use it, you sweat more every time as your body takes a bit of time to get used to this kind of heat.
      In short, 20 to 30 minutes at 55 degrees and only one session per day.

      enjoy!

      Reply
  2. Pretty good post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I have quite enjoyed reading your blog posts. Any way I will be subscribing to your feed and I hope you post once more soon.

    Reply
  3. got interested after reading this. thank you. such a good post.http://www.hipotecarimovel.com

    Reply
  4. Great Post. I add this Post to my bookmarks.

    Reply
  5. awesome website to read, i like the concept taken in it.http://www.agraupe.net

    Reply
  6. Howdy, i read your blog occasionally and i own a similar one and i was just wondering if you get a lot of spam responses? If so how do you stop it, any plugin or anything you can advise? I get so much lately it’s driving me crazy so any assistance is very much appreciated.

    Reply
  7. Very good blog! Do you have any recommendations for aspiring writers? I’m hoping to start my own site soon but I’m a little lost on everything. Would you recommend starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option? There are so many options out there that I’m completely confused .. Any recommendations? Cheers!

    Reply
  8. Glen, I get quite a bit of spam, but I just let wordpress filter it for me. it is not huge yet. Maybe 10 per week or so.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

