Infrared Therapy for your Skin

Following on from my recent blog post about ‘Natural remedies for healing acne’ I would like to share how my home infrared sauna cabin has also helped my skin.

My husband and I received our Health Mate far infrared sauna cabin last December. As we live in an apartment in central London, we haven’t got ample space – so for now we have the smallest model, the 1 seater (1m square) which sits comfortably in our spare bedroom. Yes, our guests love us!

Well, I started having 20 minute sessions, 3 times a week at about 50 degrees Celsius.  Over time, I have increased this to at least 30 minutes (sometimes 40 as I don’t want to get out!) and usually set it at 60-65 degrees. If it’s a hot day (which I can count the number of days on one hand sadly this year) then I tend to stick to 50 degrees. Anyway, at these temperatures I sweat, and I mean pouring of my skin, continually wiping myself down sweat. I never sweat this much in a regular sauna at 90 degrees – of course this is partly due to the fact that I can’t last much longer than 5-10 minutess.

So why am I sweating more in a lower heat? As the far infrared rays penetrate deep into your skin and heat your body from within, your body has to work harder to cool down, hence why you produce more sweat.

Therefore, using my infrared sauna every day, I’m ridding myself of toxins and hence cleansing my skin. Also, I’m getting rid of the old skin cells and replacing with new cells much quicker.

My conclusion is; yes my skin is much clearer and smoother. I still get spots, so I don’t think this will necessary rid you of all acne but the healing process is much quicker plus it gets rid of scars over time (again related to the quicker regeneration of skin cells). Now the only thing is I had good skin when pregnant and breastfeeding and now that’s all finished and my hormones are back to full whack, my skin is trying to go back to its evil ways. However, I truly believe this has stopped this from happening so aggressively. Again, I still need to monitor this over a longer period of time but I wanted to post now to comment on how it’s going so far. I would like to note though, that on 2 or 3 occasions, we have been away and I haven’t been able to use the sauna for a week to ten days – in that time my skin has noticeably deteriorated. Is it a coincidence? It could be but I doubt it. When I have been using my far infrared sauna almost daily, friends comment on how good my skin looks. So at the moment I feel there is a strong link between my skin improving and my infrared sauna sessions.

As a side note; just before I got married my skin became really bad. Was it stress? Maybe, I don’t know. Anyway, a beautician convinced me to have infrared light treatment, localised from a lamp. I only had one session as couldn’t afford to have more, time and money wise. After that one session, I noticed an improvement in my skin – spots drying out and scars fading. As it was only one treatment, I can’t comment further, but this was well before my husband and I made the decision to be involved with infrared therapy.

So there you go, another natural tip for your skin.

If you have tried an infrared sauna, I would love to hear your comments below. Or if you have any questions then I’d be happy to try my best to answer them for you!

God luck in your quest for beautiful skin…

Nicola

if you like this post, please also like our Facebook page

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. wow, awesome article…keep posting.http://www.planosodontologicos.org

    Reply
  2. how exciting! i have really enjoyed reading this post. you guys have built a great community!http://www.easyclik.net

    Reply
  3. I adored your helpful site. topnotch information. I hope you produce more. I will carry on watching

    Reply

Leave a Reply

